Kathina 2015
Thursday, 05 November 2015 20:50
Print E-mail

Kathina is a Buddhist festival which comes at the end of Vassa, the three-month rainy season retreat for Theravada Buddhists. The season during which a monastery may hold Kathina is one month long, beginning after the full moon of the eleventh month in the Lunar calendar (usually October). It is a time of giving, for the laity to express gratitude to Buddhist monks and nuns.Lay Buddhists bring donations to temples, especially new robes for the monks. Click here to read article from

Last Updated on Friday, 06 November 2015 12:17
IBC Climate Change Statement for Paris COP21 Meeting
Sunday, 18 October 2015 13:48
Print E-mail

Message to All the world leaders who will be negotiating a universal climate agreement at the upcoming UN Convention on Climate Change, which will take place from 30 November to 11 December 2015, in Paris:

The Federation of Australian Buddhist Councils (F.A.B.C.) through it’s membership with five state Buddhist Councils of Australia represent several hundred Buddhist organisations in the country and are the de-facto voice of the Australian Buddhist community.

We support the the Buddhist Declaration on Climate Change which will be presented on 28 Nov 2015 in Paris on behalf of Buddhists around the world by the International Buddhist Confederation (IBC).

The FABC is a member of the IBC and thank Dr Barbara Maas, Secretary of the IBC Standing Committee for Environment and Conservation in her role in this important initiative.

This is the Statement that will be presented in Paris on 28 November 2015:

Last Updated on Sunday, 18 October 2015 14:00
2015-2016 FABC Committee
Thursday, 01 October 2015 17:16
Print E-mail

Following the Annual General Meeting held in Perth on the 10th August 2015, the elected Management Committee are:

Dr. Jake Mitra - President (BCWA)
Ms. Myly Nguyen - Vice President (BCV)
Mr. Kim Hollow - Secretary (BCQ)
Mr Benjamin Webster - Treasurer (BCNSW)

Other Delegated Members on the FABC Committee are:

Ms Anna Markey - (BCSA)
Mr. Brian White - (BCNSW)
Mr. Harvey Tuck - (BCV)Mr. James Ferguson - (BCQ)
Mr. Karl Matacz - (BCWA)
Rev. George Gatenby - (BCSA)

Last Updated on Sunday, 18 October 2015 13:47
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>
Page 2 of 27