Western Australia

Buddhist Council of
Western Australia

The BCWA was formed in 1995 to serve as a peak body to represent the Buddhist community at government level and national levels... website

South Australia

Buddhist Council of
South Australia

The BCSA was incorporated on the 25th October 2005 to serve as the representative organisation for Buddhist temples, groups and organisations in South Australia... website


Buddhist Council of

The BCQ, which was created in 1999, has brought a large number of Buddhist centres and societies together, for their common benefit... website

New South Wales

Buddhist Council of
New South Wales

On the instigation of the World Fellowship of Buddhists, a meeting was held in 1984 in Sydney to establish a regional branch and thus form the Buddhist Council of NSW... website


Buddhist Council
of Victoria

The Buddhist Council of Victoria, formed in 1995, is an actively engaged body representing the needs of Buddhists to all levels of government in the state of Victoria... website

Climate Action Kit
Tuesday, 21 July 2015 12:37

The Buddhist Climate Change Action Kit is an up-to-date, comprehensive online resource with creative ideas to empower Buddhists to care for the natural world.

From quotes from the Buddha and great teachers, to dharma practice, to easy-to- understand science, from ideas for nurturing a sense of connection with Creation to tips for improving energy efficiency and advocacy, this kit will empower your Buddhist community to become more ecologically aware and responsive.

The Buddha was born in the forrest, achieved full awakening among the trees and passed away into parinibbana surrounded by trees and nature. He encouraged frugality and the preciousness of all life forms. He also taught impermanence and right action to improve one's own welfare and that of all beings on the planet.

Hence the Buddha taught us about the interconnectedness of all living things, including ourselves. This kit was developed with the assistance of ARRCC (Australian Religious Response to Climate Change).




Prime Minister's Vesak Day Message 2015
Friday, 22 May 2015 12:44

I am pleased to provide this message on the occasion of Vesak.

Celebrating the birth, enlightenment and passing of Sakyamuni Buddha, this is an important time for the Buddhist community to come together in fellowship, and for the broader community to deepen their appreciation of Buddhist culture.

The Buddhist community, in all its diversity, has become an integral part of the Australian story.

Buddhism is Australia’s second-most practiced religion. For many, it provides meaning, purpose and inspiration to their daily lives.

The five precepts of Buddhism: don’t kill, don’t steal, avoid dishonourable conduct, don’t lie, and don’t over-indulge, stand as a universal code of conduct that all people regardless of our religion or culture should strive towards.

At this time, we celebrate the contribution that the Buddhist community makes to Australia. I acknowledge your commitment to respect, compassion and understanding as taught by Buddha.

I send my best wishes to everyone attending this celebration.


The Hon Tony Abbott MP Prime Minister of Australia

26 May 2015


download the message for display at your Buddhist center here

Marriage Equality Statement 2013
Friday, 03 May 2013 00:00

With the passing of Marriage Equality laws in New Zealand in April 2013, and with general elections coming up here in September, the push for Marriage Equality in Australia has become a current issue again. Many of the arguments against marriage equality are similar to the arguments that were used in 1893 against the push for the right of women to vote. New Zealand was of course the first country in the world to allow women to vote. Australia would do well to follow New Zealand once again.